Coffee Producing Regions


World coffee production


Coffee is originally from Ethiopia, which is located in the central part of the African continent. However, the greatest disseminators of the coffee culture throughout the world were the Arabs. Thanks to them, Europe was introduced to coffee in the 14th century but it was only around 1615 that coffee was widely consumed by Europeans. Up to that point, only the Arabs knew how to grow it.

The Germans, the French and the Italian all tried to unravel the plant´s secrets, but it was the Dutch that succeeded, growing their plants in greenhouses at the Amsterdam Botanical Garden. After that, coffee finally became a European habit.

The growing European consumer market encouraged the expansion of coffee growing to African countries and ensured its delivery to the New World. Explorers brought coffee to Suriname, Santo Domingo, Cuba, Puerto Rico and the Guyanas. It was through the Guyanas that coffee finally made its way to the northern part of Brazil. That way, the Arabs´ secret was disseminated worldwide.

The greatest coffee producing countries in the world are Brazil, Colombia, Mexico, Guatemala, Indonesia, Vietnam, the Ivory Coast, India, Uganda and Ethiopia. Brazil is a world leader in coffee export, with approximately a 32% market share worldwide. In the consumer market, it is the 2nd leading country, following the USA.


In Brazil, six states lead the national coffee production:
Minas Gerais, São Paulo, Paraná, Espírito Santo, Bahia and Rondônia.

Main Regions

(80% Arabica and 20% Robusta)

Arabica producing regions:
Planalto Conquistense, Chapada Diamantina, Brejões, Barreiras, Luiz Eduardo Magalhães.

Robusta producing regions:
South Atlantic.

(20% Arabica and 80% Robusta)

Northern part of the state:
It is a Robusta producing region due to its topography and low altitude (under 400 meters).

Southeast part of the state:
It is an Arabica producing region with altitude above 400 meters.

(98% Arabica and 2% Robusta)

South of Minas (two commercialization and production centers): Varginha (a 100km radius);
Guaxupé/São Sebastião do Paraíso (a radius of approximately 100km).

Zona da Mata:
Manhumirim, Manhuaçu, Caratinga and surrounding cities.

Area with a radius of approximately 100km.

(100% Arabica)

Norte Velho:
Ribeirão do Pinhal, Santo Antonio da Platina, Ibaiti, Jacarezinho.

Norte Novo:
Rolândia Astorga, Cornélio Procópio, Londrina.

Vale do Ivaí:
Ivaiporã, Mandaguari, Apucarana, Campo Mourão.

N. Londrina, Cianorte, Maringá, Paranavaí, Umuarama.

(90% Robusta)
(100% Arabica)

Franca, Altinópolis, Pedregulho, Espírito Santo do Pinhal.

Alta Paulista:
Garça, Marília, Vera Cruz.

Avaré, Piraju, Fartura, Santa Cruz do Rio Pardo.

Percentage by State

Minas gerais49%

Espírito Santo17%

São Paulo13%




Source: Brazilian Government